Home » personal » He fixes Radios by Thinking!

He fixes Radios by Thinking!

During my commuting times, I read a book. These days, I finished “For Whom The Bell Tolls”. I was about 5 – 10 pages before the end but my trip ended. Since I had access on the Internet I thought I should grab the chance to learn about the context in which the book was written. Amazingly enough, the plot summary contains disproportionally many details from final pages than from the rest of the book. The end was spoiled to me. That reminded me of Kahneman book “Thinking, fast and slow” and the fact that as people we usually judge our experiences by their final moments and their peak and not by taking into consideration the whole experience and expressing its average feeling. The plot was projecting these mentality in its text. Nevertheless, this mentality is unfair to our past self who went through all this experience. A book should not be judged by its end and by its most dramatic moments only. It is more like Odysseus’ trip. We always have a goal to keep us motivated and long for it, but we should not devalue the trip to this goal.

I won’t write a review about the book because I think there are several ones which are better than what I could have written. I think, though, it makes an interesting read. All the events happen only in few days but they seem like an entire life. The main character of the book tries to detonate a bridge during the Spanish civil war and the book describes his adventures.

Today morning, I started another book that I was looking forward to: “Surely you’re joking, Mr. Feynman!“. It was brought to by a very clever friend. I am in the first pages where there is an anecdote about a layman who after seeing Feynman in his young age fixing his radio after quite some thinking and then few moments of tickling, he claimed that Feynman “fixes radios by thinking”. I could not help myself but make the connection that this is the way that several aspects of technology nowadays work.

As for the title of the post, I preferred to dedicate it to a celebrating statement of human rationality rather than depicting a more accurate picture of this post which starts with an observation about what at least I would consider as irrational behaviour.

Leave a Reply

